Getting a raise.. Or not

Getting a raise.. Or not

Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid (D-Nev.) is delaying the minimum wage vote that would increase minimum wage to $10.10. He says it could cost up to 500,000 jobs. I find this hard to believe. I realize that with a big change like this would come with its obstacles and would maybe cost some jobs, but so many of these articles I read claim large setbacks like this and I just want to know the statistics behind them. 

I’m not an expert on the subject, but I think an incremental raise would be best. Right now, the national minimum wage is about $7.25. I don’t see why we are hiking it up almost $3.00 whole dollars at once. Why not start with a dollar, and then another the next year. I am a bit naive on the subject; I won’t lie. However, it’s something I’m going to start following more closely, especially since it’s going to be me out there in the real world soon enough. 

Leave a Reply

